Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Scheme Session 2019-2020

How to apply


Step I: Check your eligibility

-Be a citizen of or be granted refugee status from an eligible Commonwealth country, or be a British Protected Person

-Be permanently resident in an eligible Commonwealth Country

-Be available to start your academic studies in the UK by the start of the UK academic year in September 2019

-By September 2019, hold a First Degree of at least Upper Second Class (2:1) standard, or a Second Class degree and a relevant postgraduate qualification (usually a Master’s degree)

-Applicants whose first language is not English must have already met the University’s English Language requirements by 7 March 2019. Some Schools require a standard of English higher than the University minimum. You should have a valid test result, which is normally no more than two years old by your official start date at the University of Leeds. Examples of an acceptable English Language Standard can be found at:

-Not have studied or worked for one (academic) year or more in a high income country

-Be unable to afford to study in the UK without this scholarship

Step II: Submit an application for MSc Plant Science and Biodiversity

  • Applicants MUST first apply to MSc Plant Science and Biotechnology and be in receipt of a Student Application ID to be eligible for a Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Scheme Award. You will need to enter your Student Application ID on the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission online application system.

Step III: Complete the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission application

  • Applicants MUST also complete the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission application form via their online application system (open on or after 12 January 2019) – please visit for details on how to apply under the CSC online system. When asked to select the Nominating Agency, please enter the University of Leeds.

Please note that, due to the large volume of applications, the Postgraduate Scholarships Office will not enter into any correspondence regarding the progress of an application until the outcome is known.


Eligible courses: MSc Plant Science and Biotechnology. Eligible countries: Bangladesh, Cameroon, Ghana, Guyana, India, Kenya, Kiribati, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Nigeria, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Rwanda, Samoa, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Sri Lanka, Swaziland, Tanzania, Tuvalu, Uganda, Vanuatu and Zambia.

How are the scholarships awarded?

The School selects a shortlist of applicants who they wish to recommend for the award. The Group on Scholarships, Studentships and Prizes then meets to consider the shortlists and select the recommendations for awards and reserves, which is then sent to the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission for final approval. Applicants can expect to be notified of the outcome of their application by June 2019. The University will use the data provided in the application form for internal selection and statistical purposes and publish the names of the successful applicants within the University and externally on the University website.

Number of scholarships available


Partner institute (name)

The Scholarships are funded jointly with the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission (CSC), with funding from the Department for International Development (DfiD).

Partner institute (url)