Carlie Abbott-Imboden

Carlie Abbott-Imboden

About your course/programme

Why did you choose to study your course?

After graduating from the University of Leeds with a 2:1 in BSc Sport and Exercise Sciences, I wanted to further my knowledge into exercise and rehabilitation. The course was novel to the University of Leeds and provided me with a greater theoretical understanding of the concepts surrounding exercise and rehabilitation, far greater than anything I had ever touched upon at an undergraduate level.

Additionally, I have always been an extremely independent worker, therefore the MRes really intrigued me. The varied modules within the course have given me a greater insight into not only the practical aspects of exercise and rehabilitation but also a deep understanding of data analysis and advanced research, which stands out on your CV.

What do you enjoy about your course?

COVID-19, unfortunately, made the course rather restricted. However the modules were still in-depth and there is a wide range of assessments, including essays, presentations, exams etc. I enjoyed this, as sometimes I believe exams restrict you to an extent. Furthermore, the assignments were based on your interests. You would be given an outline of what they wanted, but you were able to pick any topic you would like. I enjoy this independence.

What have been the highlights of the course so far?

I really enjoy the laboratory work and am hoping to gain more practical experience to be able to develop my knowledge and skills, making me more employable. Additionally, I really enjoy the independence we have around assignments and it makes writing them a lot more interesting when it is based on areas that you enjoy.

What have been the greatest challenges throughout your course so far?

It has to be the step up from an undergraduate level. I knew it would be tough but be prepared. You definitely get out what you put in, so if you are not willing to put the time or effort in, I would really consider if the masters would be for you, especially as it is predominately based on your own research.

What is your research project on and what has it involved?

Currently, I am still contemplating on what area of research I want to go into; however, I am extremely interested in what drives muscular activity, and how it differs in healthy patients compared to patients with a neurological disorder.

How do you think doing a research project has benefited you/will benefit you in the future?

I think it shows how I can independently work and come up with a novel research idea to able to answer questions that have yet to be answered in the forever changing field of science. I believe it increases my employability as it shows that I am willing to take on a challenge and give it my all.

About the University

What have been the highlights of your time at the University of Leeds?

Studying at an undergraduate level, I knew it was a great university and I was very comfortable, but I honestly would say my masters have been the highlight of my time in Leeds. I really enjoyed my undergraduate course, however, the independence you get when completing a masters and the amount of research to complete is revolutionary. I did not expect the level of work I would be doing, but I am really enjoying the challenge. Leeds is now a home away from home.

Have you joined any student societies/sports clubs at the university? If so, how has this enhanced your time at the University?

I have always been involved in the basketball team and I was lucky enough to be voted 1st team captain in my 2nd year. I have also played for Sports and Exercise Science Netball team, which is a very relaxed place to play netball against other courses. Joining a society definitely increased my confidence and honestly made my time at university amazing. It is nice to have a group of people you can talk to away from your course and away from your house, and just have a laugh with!

What key aspects of your experience of Leeds would you highlight to students thinking about coming do the same course?

I think I would say do not panic. It is a scary transition, however the support you receive is very good. Day or night I can message my supervisors and they will respond. Also, join as many societies as you can! That is the best way to meet people.

What are your ambitions for the future? Do you have specific career plans? 

I would like to go into some form of rehabilitation work, whether that would be working with patients in a laboratory setting, or in a rehabilitation centre. There are a number of career centres put in place, so I am just attending them and seeing what I think I would enjoy doing!