Recognising excellence: Women of Achievement 2018

Dr Katie Field in the School of Biology was amongst 15 female colleagues and students who were recognised at this year’s University’s Women of Achievement Awards for their outstanding achievements.

The Awards were hosted by Professor Lisa Roberts, Deputy Vice-Chancellor: Research and Innovation. Alumna and Chief Executive of the Southbank Centre, Elaine Bedell, gave a keynote speech and presented the winners with their award certificates.

Being held for the fifth time, the Awards are a key part of the Leeds Gender Framework. They celebrate the significant contributions and impact that the winners have made across the University and beyond. The women receiving awards were all nominated by their peers, and represent academic and professional staff, as well as students, and are drawn from across the University. They all share a common commitment to excellence and have performed outstandingly in their fields, whether this be in research, student education or student experience, scholarship, leadership of key University initiatives, or supporting administrative and technical activities.

All eight of the University’s faculties were represented in the Awards, as was the Leeds Doctoral College and professional services such as Educational Engagement, Sustainability Services, and Strategy and Planning, showing how excellence is being achieved throughout the institution.

Portrait photographs of the award winners will shortly be installed as part of a permanent exhibition in Parkinson Court. The images of this year’s winners will join those of the 50 women recognised in previous Women of Achievement Awards, helping to create an enduring showcase celebrating the University’s talented and remarkable women, and providing exemplary female role models to inspire other staff and students in their career development.

Professor Barbara Evans, School of Civil Engineering

International Water Association (IWA) 2017 Development Award: Research

Dr Claire Eldridge, School of History

Awarded the Royal Historical Society’s Gladstone Prize

Professor Claire Honess, School of Languages, Cultures and Societies/Leeds Doctoral College

Appointment as Dean of Postgraduate Research Studies at the University

Dr Cristina Stefan, School of Politics and International Studies

The British Academy Rising Star Engagement Award (March 2017)

Elizabeth Kapasa, School of Mechanical Engineering                                         

Won the national Institute of Physics and Engineering in Medicine’s Spier’s Prize for Outreach 2017 for her contribution to promoting bioengineering.

Professor Fiona Meldrum, School of Chemistry                                               

Awarded the 2017 Interdisciplinary Prize of the Royal Society of Chemistry

Professor Jane Nixon, Leeds Institute of Clinical Trials Research, Faculty of Medicine and Health                                                                                            

Made a Member of the Order of the British Empire (MBE) for services to health research (2017)

Dr Julia Steinberger, School of Earth and Environment

Leverhulme Research Leadership Award (2017)

Dr Katie Field, School of Biology                                                                               

* Biotechnology and Biological Sciences Research Council Translational (David Phillips) Fellowship (2016-2021)                                                                                  

* Philip Leverhulme Trust Prize (2017)                                                                         

* Rank Prize New Investigator Award (2016)

Lenka Vráblíková, School of Fine Art, History of Art and Cultural Studies

After her leading role in organising the international ‘Feminist Readings’ conference at the University in 2016, Lenka helped to secure funding for the ‘Feminist Readings Network’ from the Gender and Education Association.

Louise Banahene, Head of Educational Engagement                                                        

Awarded an MBE in the New Year's Honours (2018) list for her services to Higher Education

Dr Louise Ellis, Sustainability Services

*attainment of ISO14001, a University-wide, accredited, Environmental Management System which provides a framework to systematically assess and track our environmental legal compliance

* winner of six Green Gown awards for Sustainability practices

* winner of the Carbon Trust Energy award for best Sustainability Communications Campaign

Dr Pamela Macpherson-Barrett, Head of Policy, Funding & Regulation, Strategy & Planning                                                                                              

Played a leading role in the University’s Teaching Excellence Framework submission, for which the University was awarded Gold.

Professor Pınar Akman, School of Law                                                              

Awarded a Philip Leverhulme Trust Prize (2017)

Professor Wändi Bruine de Bruin, Centre for Decision Research, Leeds University Business School                                                                                          

* made Fellow of the Psychonomic Society (US)                                                                      

* made Fellow of the Network for Studies on Pensions, Aging, and Retirement (NETSPAR)

Roll of Honour

The judging panel also selected five further female colleagues to appear on the Women of Achievement Roll of Honour:

Professor Andrea Nelson, Dame Kathleen Raven Professor in Clinical Nursing Research, Head of the School of Healthcare, Deputy Dean for the Faculty of Medicine and Health                                                                                                 

An exceptional clinical researcher who is widely recognised for her contributions to the field of nursing management of chronic wounds.

Rebecca McCaw, Student, Leeds University Business School, President of the Leeds Women in Leadership Society

Co-founded the Leeds Women in Leadership Society in 2016 and was later elected president.

Professor Julia Barrow, Professor of Medieval Studies, School of History

Elected a Fellow of the British Academy for her outstanding contribution to research and distinction in the humanities and social sciences.

Izy Hossack, Student, School of Food Science and Nutrition                                

A Food Science and Nutrition student who turned her award-winning blog – Top with Cinnamon – into a cookbook which is recognised internationally.

Dr Anwesha Sarkar, Associate Professor of Food Colloids, School of Food Science and Nutrition

Recognised for her contributions to the field of oral processing. In 2017 she was awarded €1.3m by the European Research Council.